Energy and Power Group

The Energy & Power Group (EPG) in the Department of Engineering Science at the University of Oxford undertakes computational and experimental sustainable energy research with particular focus on smart energy systems, energy storage, transport and electrical machines. The group was founded in 1993 by Associate Professor Malcolm McCulloch and who continues to lead the group together with Associate Professor David Howey and Associate Professor Charles Monroe.

We are friendly and innovative research group with a desire to address energy grand challenges through technology. 

EPG picture May 2015

L-R: Damien Frost, Pietro Romanazzi, Dr Francisco Marquez-Fernandez, Chun Sing Lai, Dr Kostas Gyftakis, Joel Atkin, Dr Mahdi Alavi, Prof Malcolm McCulloch (Associate Professor and Group Founder), Ren Kang, Prof David Howey (Associate Professor), Robert Richardson, Adrien Bizeray, Dr Baljit Riar, Nicole Miranda, Caroline Ames, Christoph Birkl, Anna Clements. Not present: Robert Camilleri, Dr Johannes Potgieter, Richard Wong, Peter Armstrong, Dr Shi Zhao.

Our work is supported by: